Samantha Chic: Good Reads // "The House at Riverton" by Kate Morton

4.12.2013

Good Reads // "The House at Riverton" by Kate Morton

book review, books, Downton Abbey, good reads, kate morton, the house at riverton


If the end of season three of Downton Abbey has left you wanting more (even more than a month later), then this 2007 novel by Kate Morton would be right up your alley!

Even Barnes & Noble agrees in their overview: The House at Riverton is a gorgeous debut novel set in England between the wars. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, it is the story of an aristocratic family, a house, a mysterious death and a way of life that vanished forever, told in flashback by a woman who witnessed it all and kept a secret for decades.

My cousin Sam had given me this book for Christmas (Thank you very much!) before I even started catching up on Downtown Abbey (And thank you Hulu Plus!). 

At first, I was a bit intimidated by the 300+ pages in the novel, which, I must admit is longer than I usually read and it took me some time to get through, but the descriptions and details keep you hanging on through all the pages.

Told mostly from the point of view of Grace, a now elderly woman reflecting on her days as a server at Riverton and later a ladies maid in London, we learn about the lives of those coming and going from Riverton – most importantly, how they are all intertwined and the secrets they each keep. 

Some characters come and go throughout the pages, but each play an integral role in the final chapters – a turn of events, I must say, I didn’t see coming.

Chapters flip back and forth from scenes of present-day Grace and earlier-days Grace, the latter of which I preferred. 

While the story might have benefited from some shortening (in my opinion, because I have such a short attention span!), overall, it was a riveting book that I look forward to finishing and was sad to see end when I did.

Buy it online: "The House at Riverton" by Kate Morton at Target $16

Get more:
-- The Vacationers by Emma Straub
-- Eightysixed by Emily Belden review
-- Lean In by Sheryl Sandberg review
-- Gunns Golden Rules by Tim Gunn reivew


Let's keep in touch...
 
Follow on Bloglovin

Disclosure: This post contains affiliate links,meaning I may earn a commission off of any item purchased.

No comments :

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...